DV Lottery help

Eligible Countries (Allowed Countries.)

American diversity visa lottery program allows only those people who were born in eligible countries and they won't allow natives of those countries that are listed as ineligible by them.

Why some country natives are not allowed to participate in the program?
Because more than 50,000 people from these countries had immigrated to the USA within the last 5 year period.

The entire countries in the African region were eligible to participate in the last held draw except Nigeria as it was listed in the ineligible country list for the first time and the first country to get to be listed from the Africa region.

If you were born in an eligible country and living in another country or holding the new country's PR or passport, you are eligible to participate in this draw if you meet all the other requirements as per the instructions.

Neither of your parents was born there or resided there at the time of your birth, you may claim nativity in one of your parents' countries of birth if it is a country whose natives qualify for the program.

If you are born in an ineligible country and your spouse was born in an eligible country, you can apply for the selection draw claiming your spouse country for the eligibility. If you had been issued with the entry permit under this program, you should take your spouse along with you as you are not allowed to enter the USA under this program.

DV 2016, eligible country list.

So far there is no announcement about the DV-2016 program from the US State Department. So you have to wait for to get the new eligible country list. Keep visiting this web page regularly for new updates.


Nigeria natives are included in the ineligible list and they are barred from participating in this draw. And the Bangladesh natives are still in the ineligible list to participate as was last year.


Republic of Guatemala from the Central America region had been included in the eligible country list.

Countries that are not eligible to participate in the draw are as follows, BANGLADESH, BRAZIL, CANADA, CHINA (mainland-born), COLOMBIA, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, ECUADOR, EL SALVADOR, HAITI, INDIA, JAMAICA, MEXICO, NIGERIA, PAKISTAN, PERU, PHILIPPINES, SOUTH KOREA, UNITED KINGDOM (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and VIETNAM.
Persons born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan are eligible to participate in this green card lottery.

Source: Wiki